Daas Witte

Daas Witte

Daas Witte (I need to start taking better photos than this)

Following on from a previous post on the lovely Daas Blond, it’s time now to attack its sister beer, the Witte (read white, if you’re English and your skills of guessing translations are really poor).

First things first, I’m not as impressed with this, the wheat beer, as I was with their strong blond Belgian ale. But, that’s not to say that I’m not a fan of this. Indeed, this certainly holds up well against many other Belgian wheat beers (I’m looking at you Hoegaarden). But wheat beers have always been a fvaourite of mine. I first got into tasting half decent beers when I discovered Hoegaarden (although my comment just two sentences ago tells you that I’ve since lost the taste for that beer) and later Erdinger at North became a staple. On  hot day, I’m still liable to plump for a nice Erdinger over a traditional British ale – mainly just because it comes more chilled but tastes loads better than pretty much any lager.

It’s worth also chucking in her that the Erdinger Dunkel (the dark one) is also pretty good, arguably better than the white one, and much better in those Autumn months.

It pours a glorious pale colour, and isn’t half as cloudy as you might expect from a wheat beer. It’s taste, similarly is fresher and simpler than a lot of comparable beers. It doesn’t have that cloying sweetness you can find in some wheat beers, and those lovely citrus flavours come through really well – most notably the orange, which lasts long into the finish.

Without wanting to get all technical on you (as if I could), this is a really good summer drink. It’s crisp, it’s easy and it’s refreshing and the sweetness comes from a gentle vanilla note that floats across with each sip, giving it a slight creaminess, some how (despite the thin head).

Stick on top of that all that lovely stuff about it being organic (we all love that stuff these days) and you’ve got yourself a rather good beer. But, I’m definitely more likely to plump for a Blond over a Witte next time. I’ll save this one for the summer.

More Daas stuff is here, and I got both my bottles from the splendid Zak at Beer Ritz

One Response

  1. […] daft enough to give you free beer. Amazing. One such mad company is Daas beer. I wrote about their Daas White and Daas Blond and then they sent me their new, dark, bronze coloured Daas Ambre, a 6.5% marmaladey […]

Leave a Reply

