Nightclubbing: more of a question that a post, I guess

I went to a wedding on Saturday. It was great. Not that you’re that interested, like.

While at said wedding, a friend of mine did a DJ set that had me dancing for a good 90 minutes, stone-cold sober, and bloody loving it. He played stuff like:

Blur – ‘Girls & Boys’
Dexy’s Midnight Runners – ‘Geno’
Pixies – ‘Debaser’
Michael Jackson – ‘Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough’
Eels – ‘Mr E’s Beautiful Blues’

Now how great would it be if Leeds had a clubnight that played stuff like this? 80s and 90s music that isn’t cheesey, or obscure, or twee, or hip, just genuinely good tunes you can dance and jump around to, and know and love.  There are brit-pop nights aplenty, yes, there are 80s power ballad nights, there are twee indie nights, but I don’t think there’s any like this, is there?

Please tell me if I am wrong, and I will go.

4 Responses

  1. sigh…. Bad Sneakers used to be this night.

    • I don’t think it did. Bad Sneakers always had some hipness and newness about it. I don’t want new stuff or cool stuff. Just classic big party songs. I can’t remember Bad Sneakers ever not being too hip for its own good…

  2. my very, very briefly lived night Hipster Doofus played that stuff. A long time ago.

  3. We need to make this happen Tom! I’ve been saying for years that there is a gap in the market designed specifically to not aim towards a target demographic! (count the apparent oxymorons in that sentence, eh?)

    Every time I go out anywhere and have a semi-decent night, I always come back to saying to the other half that there should be a club night called Music For Dancing To. This would do nothing other than play great quality music, mostly but not exclusively stuff that you know but rarely hear anywhere else, purely designed to get people dancing. It would also have lots of hand-pull ales, and a suitable number of bar staff to man the bar so it is not 6 deep to be served one of these. It would also have clean toilets and no dress code.

    And anyone seen sneering at anyone else for engaging in stupid dad-dancing would be ejected immediately.

    Such is my utopian vision.

    Oh, and glad you liked the set by the way, and sorry it’s taken me 8 months to find this blog! 🙂

    RPC.

Leave a Reply

